Saturday, October 26, 2013

The Boleyn Deceit

Written By: Laura Andersen

The Boleyn Deceit is the sequel to The Boleyn King

The Boleyn Deceit

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending war, and unbridled passions.

The regency period is over and William Tudor, now King Henry IX, sits alone on the throne. But England must still contend with those who doubt his legitimacy, both in faraway lands and within his own family. To diffuse tensions and appease the Catholics, William is betrothed to a young princess from France, but still he has eyes for only his childhood friend Minuette, and court tongues are wagging.

Even more scandalous—and dangerous, if discovered—is that Minuette’s heart and soul belong to Dominic, William’s best friend and trusted advisor. Minuette must walk a delicate balance between her two suitors, unable to confide in anyone, not even her friend Elizabeth, William’s sister, who must contend with her own cleaved heart. In this irresistible tale, the secrets that everyone keeps are enough to change the course of an empire.

-summary from amazon

In the Boleyn Deceit we begin with two major events, an eclipse and the arrival at court of John Dee who has done astrological charts for the four main characters. Laura Andersen uses this to set up the primary conflicts in the novel, desire versus duty, loyalty versus personal happiness. She also skillfully integrates real history and characters into this historical what if. Including a flirtation between Elizabeth and Robert Dudley.

This was a wonderful follow up to the Boleyn king which takes the initial story and progresses it to the next step. I enjoyed reading about the characters navigating the politics at court while each having their own secrets and desires.
This is a very strong sequel that keeps the reader interested and anticipating what will come next. 

I thouroughly enjoyed this book and am now anxiously awaiting the conclusion to the trilogy. I give The Boleyn Deceit a solid 4.5 stars and recommend it to anyone who enjoys Tudor historical fiction.




2 comments:

GilbertoMCP said...

Help us, please, I and my wife are passing for this kind you treatment because she has Turner and we tried 3 times and we are going the forth time but I think that the medication is lower than necessary because she is using only crinone once a day and strogen (6 mg) a day. Could you tel us what were your medication ?

Marta Ds said...
This comment has been removed by the author.